A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!
A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!
Important Battles Indian History

Important Battles of Indian History
327-26 Alexander invades India. Defeats Porus in the Battle of Hydaspes (Jhelum) 326 BC
305 Chandragupta Maurya defeats the Greek King Seleucus.
216 The Kalinga War. Conquest of Kalinga by Ashoka.
c. 155 Menander's invasion of India
c. 90 The Saka invade India
454 The first Huna invasion
495 The second Huna invasion
711-712 The Arab invasion of Sind under Mohammed-bin-Qasim
1000-27 Mahmud Ghazni invades India 17 times
1175-1206 Invasions of Muhammad Ghori. First Battle of Tarain.
1191 - Prithvi Raj Chauhan defeats Muhammad Ghori; Second Battle of Tarain,
1192 - Muhammad Ghori defeats Prithvi Chauhan; Battle of Chandawar,
1194 - Muhammad Ghori defeats Jayachandra Gahadvala of Kanauj.
1294 Alauddin Khilji invades the Yadava kingdom of Devagiri. The first Turkish invasion of the Deccan.
1398 Timur invades India. Defeats the Tughlaq Sultan Mahmud Shah; the Sack of Delhi
1526 Babur invades India and defeats the last Lodi Sultan Ibrahim Lohi in the first Battle of Panipat.
1539-40 Battles of Chusa or Ghaghra (1539) and Kanauj or Ganges (1540) in which Sher Shah defeats Humayun.
1545 Battle (siege) of kalinjar and death of Sher Shah Suri.
1556 Second Battle of Panipat. Akbar defeats Hemu.
1565 Battle of Rakatakshasi-Tangadi (Talikota) in which the forces of the empire of Vijanagar under King Sadasiva Raya and his regent Rama Raya are routed by the confederate forces of the Deccani states of Bijapur, Golkonda, Ahmadnagar, and Bidar.
1576 Battle of Haldighati, Akbar defeats Rana Pratap of Mewar.
1632-33 Conquest of Ahmadnagar by Shah Jahan.
1658 Battles of Dharmat (April-May 1658) and Samugarh (June 8, 1658). Dara Shikoh, elest son of Shah Jahan, defeated by Aurangzeb.
1665 Shivaji defeated by Raja Jai Singh and Treaty of Purandhar.
1739 Invasion of India by Nadir Shah.
1746 First Carnatic War.
1748-54 Second Carnatic War.
1756-63 Third Carnatic War.
1757 Battle of Plassey. Siraj-ud-Daulah, the Nawab of Bengal, defeated by Clive.
1760 Battle of Wandiwash, in which the English under Sir Eyre Coote defeated the French under Lally.
1762 Third Battle of Panipat. Marathas defeated by Ahmad Shah Abdali.
1764 Battle of Buxar. The English (under Munro) defeated Mir Kasim, the Nawab of Bengal and Nawab Shuja-ud-daulah of Awadh.
1767-69 First Mysore War.
1774 The Rohilla War between the Rohillas and the Nawab of Awadh supported by the East India Company.
1775-82 First Maratha War
1780-82 Maratha War
1780-84 Second Mysore War
1792 Third Mysore War
1799 Fourth Mysore War, Defeat and death of Tipu Sultan
1802-04 Second Maratha War
1817-18 Third Maratha War
1845-46 first Sikh War
1846 Battle of Aliwal between the English and the Sikhs. The Sikhs were defeated.
1848-49 Second Sikh war and annexation of the Punjab to British India.
1857 The Revolt of 1857 (The First War of Indian Independence)

You May Be Interested IN
A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!

Recommend This Website To Your Friend

Your Name:  
Friend Name:  
Your Email ID:  
Friend Email ID:  
Your Message(Optional):