A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!
A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!
The first Central Cabinet of Independent India.

When India became independent in 1947, an interim ministry was formed before formulating the nation's Constitution. Following 14 great personalities were in that cabinet.

When India won freedom in 1947 an interim cabinet was formed under the Prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru. This was prior to the formulation of Indian Constitution and becoming a sovereign Republic. The head of the state was the Governor General. Lord Mountbatten was the first Governor General and the first Indian Governor General was Sri. C. Rajagopalachari.

The cabinet was constituted with the following 14 members who held the portfolios as indicated.

1.Mr. Jawaharlal Nehru, Prime Minister (External Affairs, Commonwealth Relations, Scientific Research).

2.Sardar Vallabhabhai Patel (Home, Information and Broadcasting, States)

3.Dr. Rajendra Prasad (Food and Agriculture)

4.Mr. Maulana Abulkalam Azad (Education)

5.Dr. John Mathai (Railways and Transport)

6.Sardar Baldev Singh (defence)

7.Mr. Jagajivan Ram (Labour)

8.Mr. C.H. Bhabha (Commerce)

9.Mr. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai (Communication)

10.Ms. Rajakumari Amrit kaur (Health)

11.Dr. B.R. Ambedkar (Law)

12.Mr. R.K. Shanmugham Shetty (Finance)

13.Mr. Shyamaprakash Mukherjee (Industries and Supplies)

14.Mr. N.V. Gadgil (Works, Mines and Power).

The first general election was held after the constitution came into force in 1950.

You May Be Interested IN
A Smart Gateway to India…You’ll love it!

Recommend This Website To Your Friend

Your Name:  
Friend Name:  
Your Email ID:  
Friend Email ID:  
Your Message(Optional):